China / Out West / United States Travel

South Dakotah, Great Faces Great Places!

I was so excited to head to South Dakota! I had never been to see Mount Rushmore and have always wanted to. My mom used to talk about it when her family took a trip out West. I love those stories too because they had such a big family they literally converted a bus into a RV type thing and took the whole family. I love that back then it wouldn’t have mattered that 6 kids were running around a bus headed out West!

When I’m in an area, yes I want to see the popular sights (of course) but I also want to experience the quirky costumes that they possess as well. I love food so of course I looked up what their State Food is.. and I found out it’s Chislic. What is chislic you may ask? And I sure did because I’m pretty sure that’s not in the Wisconsin dictionary, it is, “Cubes of cut lamb, beef or venison, generally no bigger than a half-inch, are cooked in a deep-fryer.” Simple as that. Either way we tried it and it was good!

The other thing you have to try out is “Wall Drug“. I google searched it because seriously as the bumper stickers say, “What the heck is Wall Drug?” Well initially it was just a pharmacy in the middle of nowhere owned by Ted Hustead. Now it has turned into literally everything you can think of. A cafe, shops, bakery and chapel. It’s insane! Wiki has this to say, “Wall Drug earns much of its fame from its self-promotion. Billboards advertising the establishment can be seen for hundreds of miles throughout South Dakota and the neighboring states. In addition, many visitors of Wall Drug have erected signs throughout the world announcing the miles to Wall Drug from famous locations, treating it as a geodesic datum“.

I had a blast in SD and I can’t wait to go back!

Travel South Dakota

 

 

Leave a Reply

