Blog Carnival Writings

Blog Carnival: Travel Companions, September Edition

Today’s article is written for the Reach To Teach Teach Abroad Blog Carnival , a monthly series that focuses on providing helpful tips and advice to ESL teachers around the globe. The host for this month is ‘Reach To Teach’, here you can find other similar articles. I’ll be posting a new ESL related article to this blog on the 5th of every month. Check back for more articles, and if you’d like to contribute to next month’s Blog Carnival, please get in touch with me at dean@reachtoteachrecruiting.com, and I’ll let you know how you can start participating!

 My name is Maggie, originally from Wisconsin but LOVE to travel! Have been around the world, and want to tell you about my stories, and offer any travel advice that I can!

This months blog carnival discussion is, “who was the best travel companion or person you met along the road and why”?

I think to find someone you can travel with and truly feel not only comfortable but enjoy your experiences with can be hard to come by! My small town of Daxing, China I was the only U.S. American, and my translators and friends at the center were married, getting married, or had children so were not up for traveling for long periods of time at all. Fortunately, through work,  I did meet a friend who was always game for a good time! We would take late trains, early trains, walked for millions of miles, took mopeds, biked and everything in between to get where we were going. It was always an adventure and always a laugh-fest along the way. One time we decided we wanted to leave to go somewhere at around 4pm, so we packed a bag with snacks, found a train, took it and got off. We didn’t really know where to go from there, or where the site that we wanted to see was… but we made the best of it. Putting on around 8+ miles of walking JUST in a particular area to try and find the site. Needless to say we did NOT find the site, almost resorted to camping outside with a sheet, and randomly found a driving range. What?! Those were the types of things we constantly encountered and it was worth every moment!

When I am traveling around the states I can always turn to my sister who once I convince to do something, and that it is going to be OK, she is open to anything 😉 We have taken countless trips to State Parks, ice-age trails, canoeing trips, fishing and hiking and the adventures only continue!

 

If you are able, I think the most successful way to find a travel companion is meeting them at hostels, expat blogs/websites or honestly, just bumping into them along the way.

 

Good luck, and if you are in China and need additional resources let me know!

Friends met on a bus!

Friends on the right, we met on a bus!

New friends, new foods!

New friends, new foods, randomly at a restaurant!

Met these friends in the gym I worked out at!

Met these friends in the gym I worked out at!

Family is the best travel companion!

Family is the best travel companion!

 

Leave a Reply

