Blog Carnival Writings

Blog Carnival: Adventures Through Mishaps and Lack-There-Of-Planning!

Today’s article is written for the Reach To Teach Teach Abroad Blog Carnival, a monthly series that focuses on providing helpful tips and advice to ESL teachers around the globe. I’ll be posting a new ESL related article on my blog on the 5th of every month. Check back for more articles, and if you’d like to contribute to next month’s Blog Carnival, please contact Dean at dean@reachtoteachrecruiting.com, and he will let you know how you can start participating! 
 
 

My adventure tips and story

My first and almost only tip for any traveler is to:
1.) HAVE A POCKET TRANSLATOR. You may not think it will be useful but guess what you’ll be using that little buddy more than you think! At times, he will be your LIFESAVER.  
 
My second tip is to:
2.) LOOK AT A MAP! Almost memorize it, that way when you get there you may not even need to ask directions because you can navigate by the things you remember seeing.
 
My most favorite story of travel and unplanned adventure is my trip to Longqing Gorge (check out my blog on it- Longqing Gorge) . It was quite honestly, mostly unprepared, but ended up being one of the most amazing fun adventures I took while in China. We left on a whim, with a small map in mind, and a pocket translator. We didn’t have hotel reservations or anything, we were prepared to camp outside if need be. When we got there, we had an idea of the street outlay and were able to wander around finding all sorts of treasures within the town. We did end up staying in a hotel, and we figured out the approximate cost of the taxi to Longqing Gorge because we were aware of the distance (from the map). If we didn’t have those two resources though.. the trip would have been a lot different. 
 
Preparing can be a lifesaver for a trip but at times can also be the ruin. I think some trips are best left planned out, but some are more fun and carefree when you can go with the flow of what the trip brings.. no expectations and no itinerary, just purely flowing with what comes your way.
4 thoughts on “Blog Carnival: Adventures Through Mishaps and Lack-There-Of-Planning!

  1. Pingback: March Blog Carnival: Adventure Tips, from the Experts! | maggie.attoe

  2. Hey I know this is off topic but I was wondering if you
    knew of any widgets I could add to my blog that automatically tweet my
    newest twitter updates. I’ve been looking for a plug-in like this
    for quite some time and was hoping maybe you would
    have some experience with something like this. Please let me know if you run into anything.
    I truly enjoy reading your blog and I look forward to your new
    updates.

  3. Whoa….impressive blog and posts on this page. The material here really are insightful!!!!
    Any RSS feed here? I had been researching for persistently updated information relating to road trip tips.

Leave a Reply

