Expat Teaching, China

DAXING, BEIJING: My Center Kids… I’m in LOVE

I can’t help it, some of these are WAY TOO adorable to keep to myself. I’m in love with them! And I think they are finally in love with me as well. After spending now, rolling up on ten months with them, I think we can safely say we are official friends, or “pen yo”.

Also I can’t help but have favorites.. hey if you treat me like I’m your bff guess what you too are my little bff.

With my older kids I find it hard and challenging with the language barrier. Sometimes it makes me sad because I would give anything to be able to understand what they are saying and converse in enthusiasm with them as well. Little Jun Shi always runs up to me and starts telling me these, what must be, AMAZING stories about life and his quest for knowledge (or something to that affect) and I blindly nod my head in excitement and go “whoaaahhh” pretending and playing I know what is going on as well.

I find the babies and toddlers are my besties because there doesn’t have to be much language between us in the first place to remain close knit. A silly face, gesture, or tickle will do just fine.

To be able to see them grow is quite a gift, I think into the future and how I might just be that crazy american girl who appeared in their life for a year. To see them down the road if they remember our interaction in the past, would be quite remarkable but most likely not plausible, but we’ll see what the future brings…

 

3 thoughts on “DAXING, BEIJING: My Center Kids… I’m in LOVE

  1. Request for registering eCurator

    Dear Arthur,

    Hello, this is Tomo.
    I’m 1st year student in UCLA located at Los Angeles.

    We will start a web service, called “eCurator” from 3rd August.
    eCurator is a web-based platform that connects overseas travelers to local residents in the area they are traveling to help provide travel advice and recommendations.

    I moved to LA in last August to study at UCLA.
    Thanks to the advice from people who have lived in LA for a long time, my life in LA has become colorful.
    So, I came to think that if local people provide travelers with their experience, their travels become more fun and something unique.

    You put out the useful information about your living city on your blog.
    So, could you talk to taravelers and share them with your local experience?
    In return for your kindness, travelers will pay you $6 for 30 minites conversation as a gratitude through our website.
    Our concept is that local residents can earn some money which allows them to buy Starbucks Latte and Scone if they talked to prospect travelers.

    If you are interested in this service, please access the link below.
    It explains the detail of eCurator and contains contact info.

    http://ecurator.info/promo/lamb

    Hope you will share your special experience with travelers

    Best Regards,

    Tomo

    eCurator’s URL (Under construction):
    https://ecurator.info/

  2. Pingback: Liliana Hunderlach

  3. Another great article Maggie ๐Ÿ™‚

    I’ve only just stumbled across your blog in the last couple of months but would like to add my experiences and advice to your experiences..

    When I graduated with a 150 hour TEFL certificate back in 2011 I had a good idea of how to teach English but not necessarily how to get a job! Luckily I used tefl.org.uk job centre (http://www.tefl.org.uk/tefl-jobs/) to find my first job in Sao Paulo, Brazil teaching 5-12 year olds in a private language school. I had a great first teaching experience and soon caught the โ€˜TEFL bugโ€™

    For anyone on here interested in TEFL, do read Maggies posts.

    Thanks for the article!!
    Racheal xo ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

