China

BEIJING: Mom’s visit, Family, Where The Heart Is

It at times has been the longest 6 months of my life (going on 7). Being without my closest soul sisters, friends, and most importantly family has been a challenge! I think the last time my mom and I were separated for this long was in the womb. SERIOUSLY.

My mom surprised me and said she had booked a flight for April back in February. I was so excited, it was actually going to happen. She was not only coming to see me, but to share my passion in worldly travels.

My friend Michael, from my gym, said that “we are friends” and “he’d be happy to bring me to the airport to pick up my mom, it’s not a problem”. So Michael and I headed out early Saturday the 12th to grab my mom. Her flight had been delayed. It was supposed to come in the night before but because of wonderful midwest weather and snow it had not.

There is nothing more exciting than the feeling of waiting for a loved one at the other end of the gate in an airport. The anticipation, excitement and brink of tears that you feel is sometimes too much to bare. When I finally saw my mom on the other side of the gate, I ran so quickly over to her, it was finally here! Being held by someone who truly loved me without any restraints, someone I had missed dearly, finally was in my arms.. and yes, I’m a momma’s girl.

I had planned a whole trip of fun things for momma and I to do. Time was just starting with her and I couldn’t wait to show her what Beijing was all about.

I think the best way to show you what mom and I experienced is through pictures… let it begin!

If you know my mom and me you know we love coffee, here was a cute place on the rooftop over looking HouHai area

If you know my mom and me you know we love coffee, here was a cute place on the rooftop over looking HouHai area

Mocha Latte

Mocha Latte

Postcards postcards and more postcards. Welcome to this little nook of a shop w/ loads of postcards for you to send home to loved ones. You can buy one and mail it for just 10rmb, =around $1.50

Postcards postcards and more postcards. Welcome to this little nook of a shop w/ loads of postcards for you to send home to loved ones. You can buy one and mail it for just 10rmb, =around $1.50

Cute bunny ears for Vera! These are popular among the younger crowd

Cute bunny ears for Vera! These are popular among the younger crowd

Lama Temple. Welcome to the prayer wheel. This is where you spin the wheel and pray, old Buddhist tradition

Lama Temple. Welcome to the prayer wheel. This is where you spin the wheel and pray, old Buddhist tradition

Lama Temple

Lama Temple

Lama Temple

Lama Temple

Beautiful, it's a must see in Beijing

Beautiful, it’s a must see in Beijing

Buddhist Monks. Best part, they wanted to take a picture of me.. with their iPhone (I dont even have an iPhone)

Buddhist Monks. Best part, they wanted to take a picture of me.. with their iPhone (I dont even have an iPhone)

Summer Palace

Summer Palace

Summer Palace

Summer Palace

Traditional music at Summer Palace

Traditional music at Summer Palace

Summer Palace

Summer Palace

Summer Palace

Summer Palace

Summer Palace

Summer Palace

Rooftop views

Rooftop views

Look at this little bugger that I found at Summer Palace!

Look at this little bugger that I found at Summer Palace!

Summer Palace

Summer Palace

Summer Palace

Summer Palace

Summer Palace

Summer Palace

Summer Palace

Summer Palace

Summer Palace

Summer Palace

Summer Palace

Summer Palace

The art of calligraphy

The art of calligraphy

Summer Palace

Summer Palace

The guys!

The guys!

YUM, Korean food my favorite!

YUM, Korean food my favorite!

Michael, Zack me and my mom. I met Michael and Zack through my gym!

Michael, Zack me and my mom. I met Michael and Zack through my gym!

Seriously what the heck. My mom and me were waiting to go to dinner with Zack and Michael and some lady opens this up.. grabs some dixie cups, locks it and walks away. ... Then another lady comes up to the other side, unlocks, looks inside (we see what looks like small milk jugs) doesn't find what she's looking for, locks it and walks away.. we were mystified

Seriously what the heck. My mom and me were waiting to go to dinner with Zack and Michael and some lady opens this up.. grabs some dixie cups, locks it and walks away. … Then another lady comes up to the other side, unlocks, looks inside (we see what looks like small milk jugs) doesn’t find what she’s looking for, locks it and walks away.. we were mystified

Books for the babes. Giving a book to YoYo

Books for the babes. Giving a book to YoYo

Gua Gua gets a book too! A center favorite! :)

Gua Gua gets a book too! A center favorite! 🙂

Jamie is loving her new hippo book

Jamie is loving her new hippo book

Mom's getting a kick out of YoYo she's so CUTE!

Mom’s getting a kick out of YoYo she’s so CUTE!

Pickin' your nose goes great with a book!

Pickin’ your nose goes great with a book!

JIa JIa

JIa JIa

The mothers and my mom!

The mothers and my mom!

Chinese people love kites!

Chinese people love kites!

My girls!

My girls!

SONY DSC

Dinner w/ the crew. Friends, Translators, and mom!

Dinner w/ the crew. Friends, Translators, and mom!

Badaling Great Wall

Badaling Great Wall

Badaling Great Wall Adventurer

Badaling Great Wall Adventurer

Badaling Great Wall- picturesque views

Badaling Great Wall- picturesque views

Badaling Great Wall on top of the world

Badaling Great Wall on top of the world

Badaling Great Wall

Badaling Great Wall

Badaling Great Wall- hello old friend, there is something so great about climbing the wall..

Badaling Great Wall- hello old friend, there is something so great about climbing the wall..

Badaling Great Wall

Badaling Great Wall

HELLO WORLD! Badaling Great Wall

HELLO WORLD! Badaling Great Wall

Badaling Great Wall.. Extra layers, we were lucky we got to see it in Spring, but also had a taste of Winter, it snowed while we were up there.. BEAUTIFUL

Badaling Great Wall.. Extra layers, we were lucky we got to see it in Spring, but also had a taste of Winter, it snowed while we were up there.. BEAUTIFUL

Badaling Great Wall

Badaling Great Wall

Badaling Great Wall- new friends everywhere you go

Badaling Great Wall- new friends everywhere you go

YUAN YUAN'S BIRTHDAY!- cake yum yum

YUAN YUAN’S BIRTHDAY!- cake yum yum

YUAN YUAN'S BIRTHDAY! Yuan Yuan w/ mom

YUAN YUAN’S BIRTHDAY! Yuan Yuan w/ mom

Yuan Yuan and me :)

Yuan Yuan and me 🙂

The birthday crew- YUAN YUAN'S BIRTHDAY!

The birthday crew- YUAN YUAN’S BIRTHDAY!

One thought on “BEIJING: Mom’s visit, Family, Where The Heart Is

  1. Maggie what an awesome blog….it brought back memorles and tears of when I spent 2 years in the azores, portugal. Memories I can never relive but lonely times as well. You do learn what you are made of during these times….you will be great

Leave a Reply

