China

2.28.2013- Beijing Air Update

Woke up this morning, looked out the window, cringed because I knew what was coming… it was a building rating of almost 0. I can barely see across the courtyard at my apartment complex. The smog hangs so THICK in the air, taunting me, because I know what this means. As soon as I step outside it will be hard to breath and I will rush to work trying to stay indoors as much as possible today. I whip open my laptop, go to the AQI rating website, and I was right. AQI rating today in Beijing = 466, HAZARDOUS.

Just another day in low air quality Beijing.

Mostly I feel sorry for my fellow Chinese translators and friends.

Looking out my window this morning

Looking out my window this morning

.. they aren’t even aware of how bad things are. What do their futures hold? I’m currently trying to convince Teresa to buy a respirator/air filter for outside. Maybe I’ll buy her one next paycheck.

Leave a Reply

