Cooking Abroad

“Sunday” Afternoon cookies

Not having an oven does pose a small problem. Baking! So I’m going to attempt a few different recipes while I’m here in China baking cookies on the skillet/stove top. If you have any recipes you would like to share with me, please do! I would love to try them.

So I still do not know if/where to find chocolate chips here, but I decided to make peanut butter oatmeal no bake cookies instead.

I grabbed some sugar, milk, a touch of brown sugar (it asked for vanilla but I do not have so I improvised hoping the brown sugar would give it a sweet molasses taste) and then I added a smidge of chunky and smooth peanut butter. First you add all the ingredients to the skillet and boil (without the oats though), then after you bring to a boil turn off your skillet and add the oatmeal. I had some breakfast oatmeal and decided to add a couple of packages (use what you have!) 🙂

Allow it to cool for a sec, and then since I do not have a baking sheet I put it on my floured cutting board! YUMMY. I couldn’t help it but scooped some into my mouth before I even served them on the board, DELICIOUS!

Glad I can bring some warm fuzzy cooking into my home on this day off 🙂

SONY DSC

Brought to a boil

Brought to a boil

SONY DSCSONY DSC

After all ingredients are mixed together

After all ingredients are mixed together

Adding the oats!

Adding the oats!

Up close and delicious

Up close and delicious

Finished product

Finished product

Leave a Reply

